Oliver Gavin Honoured by the BRDC with the Colin Chapman Trophy

Oliver Gavin was the deserving recipient of the Colin Chapman trophy at the annual British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) awards luncheon on Monday 7th December 2015, being handed the accolade by former Formula One World Champion Damon Hill at a ceremony in London.

The award, which is presented to drivers that have displayed great team spirit, has a glittering array of former winners that include; Sir Frank Williams, Ron Dennis, Ross Brawn and Christian Horner.

Gavin’s career, which has spanned some two and a half decades, has seen him achieve many notable milestones, from winning the British Formula 3 Championship and being awarded the McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year title to his rise to the cusp of Formula One, before firmly establishing himself as a World Class endurance and GT driver by winning the prestigious Le Mans 24 Hours for the fifth time this year.

“I was very honoured to receive the Colin Chapman Trophy” said Gavin, “My season this year was defined by one event, the Le Mans 24 Hours and the roller coaster of emotions and events that week made it an extraordinary race. This award reflects the efforts of the whole team throughout that week which resulted in our ultimate victory in the GTE Pro Class. To get my 5th victory at Le Mans is very special.” 

Oliver will be back on track for another season with Corvette Racing in 2016 including another assault on the classic French race in June.

For more information on Oliver Gavin and his racing activities, please visit the officialwww.olivergavin.com website, ‘like’ his Facebook page or follow @olivergavin on Twitter.

This entry was posted in Le Mans 24 Hours. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>